Webinar

The CFPB's Proposed Rule on Debt Collection

What You Need To Know, Now

August 6, 2019
12:00 p.m. ET/9:00 a.m. PT – 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT


On May 7, the CFPB issued a notice of proposed rulemaking to implement the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). The CFPB’s rules will be the first set of comprehensive regulations implementing the FDCPA since it was enacted in 1977. The proposed rules attempt to bring debt collection practices into the digital age, but several issues remain undefined:

  • Who would be covered by the new rule and what is required?
  • What impacts could the rule have on creditors?
  • How will the new rule impact enforcement at the federal and state levels?
  • What are the connections between these debt collection rules and broader laws prohibiting unfair, deceptive, and abusive acts or practices?

Join Obrea Poindexter, Kathleen “Kitty” Ryan, and Calvin Funk for an in-depth look at the key provisions in the proposed rules.


Close

Feedback

Disclaimer

Unsolicited e-mails and information sent to Morrison & Foerster will not be considered confidential, may be disclosed to others pursuant to our Privacy Policy, may not receive a response, and do not create an attorney-client relationship with Morrison & Foerster. If you are not already a client of Morrison & Foerster, do not include any confidential information in this message. Also, please note that our attorneys do not seek to practice law in any jurisdiction in which they are not properly authorized to do so.