Client Alert

美国国会加大美国对香港的潜在制裁,中美紧张关系再次升级

03 Dec 2019

除了旷日持久的中美贸易战,现在又出现了一个表明中美紧张关系再次升级的信号,在特朗普总统于2019年11月27日将两项法案签署成法律,批准与香港有关的制裁和出口限制后,中国在本周宣布反制措施,禁止美方军舰访港以及声称将制裁若干美国非政府组织。

两国政府的举措致使全球银行和跨国公司纷纷开始评估在不与可能被列为制裁对象的中港权力机关产生冲突的情况下,他们是否能实施因新法导致的美国制裁,以及在哪实施和如何实施,尤其是在香港这个区域性总部聚集的地方。特朗普政府有六个月时间决定是否进行制裁以及制裁对象,包括像香港特首林郑月娥等高级官员是否应被列入制裁名单中。因此,香港私营机构很可能在做出艰难的决定前,还有些许时间来评估事件进一步的发展情况。

特朗普总统在是否签署法案这件事上颇费口舌,他把中国国家主席称作“朋友”,但他可能认为自己在这件事上没太多选择,因为国会两党已用无法否决的多数投票通过了这两项法案(众议院以417票赞同1票否决的方式通过,参议院一致通过)。最终,总统签署了法案,但同时又发表了一份签署声明,表示“[制裁]法案中的某些条款将干扰[他]根据宪法授权主持美国外交政策的职能,”而特朗普政府将根据相关法律去处理法案中的具体条文,这表明他可能会设法中和国会所要求的严厉制裁。

第一份法案是2019年《香港人权与民主法案》(“香港人权法案”),其要求特朗普政府在六个月内(之后至少每年)向国会提交一份报告,列明被确定为需对香港非常规引渡、肆意拘留、虐待,或者任何其他严重侵犯“国际公认人权”行为负责的每一位外国人士。之后,特朗普政府将有义务对报告中列明的任何人进行制裁,包括标准的资产冻结、禁止交易以及禁发签证。

香港人权法案还要求特朗普政府在六个月内(之后至少每年)向国会提交报告,说明香港政府是否违反或者是否正在被中国利用而违反美国出口管制和制裁法。1992年《美国香港政策法》允许美国就有关贸易和出口管制事宜继续将中国大陆与香港区别对待。香港以多边出口管制制度管理自己独立的进出口制度并且在美国出口许可和法规方面享有优惠待遇。然而,香港人权法案要求特朗普政府评估:美国原产品是否在违反美国对伊朗或朝鲜制裁,或者规避军民两用品管制的情况下通过香港进行了转运,或者美国产品是否被用于开发大规模监控、预测性警务或中国的“社会信用体系”。法案还要求国务卿在相似的时间框架内报告针对美国的各项法律香港是否继续享有与在1997年从英国回归中国之前享有的相同待遇。

第二项法案禁止特朗普政府颁发许可,以允许将有关弹药物品(如:催泪瓦斯、胡椒粉喷雾剂、橡皮子弹、电击枪,泰瑟枪以及其他与人群管控有关的物品)出口到香港警务处。该法案也包括了为数不多的涉及美国国家和外交政策利益时的例外情况。

在感恩节前夕特朗普总统在法案上签字之后,中国警告特朗普政府“不要把法律付诸实践。”2019年12月2日,中国宣布暂停美国军方船舰和飞机到访香港——尽管这些船舰和飞机自中国1997年收回香港以来一直定期到访香港——并宣布对声称支持香港暴乱的各美国非政府组织实施未指定的制裁。所确定的有可能受到制裁的组织有“自由之家”、“人权观察” 、“美国国际共和研究所” 、“美国国际事务民主协会”和“美国国家民主基金会”。

中方的回应被认为“主要是象征性的”,为的是不让香港争端破坏长期以来的贸易谈判所做的努力。

美富国家安全团队将密切关注此事,并会向您告知有关最新进展情况。

Close
Feedback

Disclaimer

Unsolicited e-mails and information sent to Morrison & Foerster will not be considered confidential, may be disclosed to others pursuant to our Privacy Policy, may not receive a response, and do not create an attorney-client relationship with Morrison & Foerster. If you are not already a client of Morrison & Foerster, do not include any confidential information in this message. Also, please note that our attorneys do not seek to practice law in any jurisdiction in which they are not properly authorized to do so.

Client Alert

Congress Adds Potential U.S. Sanctions on Hong Kong to Escalating U.S.-China Tensions

03 Dec 2019

As another sign of the escalating tensions between the United States and China, in addition to the long-running trade war, China this week suspended visits to Hong Kong by the U.S. military and vowed to impose sanctions on a handful of U.S.-based non-governmental organizations after President Trump signed two bills into law on November 27, 2019, mandating sanctions and export restrictions relating to Hong Kong.

The moves by the two governments have left global banks and multinational companies scrambling to assess whether, where, and how they can implement U.S. sanctions that may be imposed as a result of the new laws, particularly in their regional hubs in Hong Kong, without running afoul of the very authorities in Hong Kong and China that may be targeted by the sanctions. The Trump Administration has six months to decide whether and whom to target, including whether top officials such as Hong Kong Chief Executive Carrie Lam should be on the list. As a result, Hong Kong private sector entities will likely have some time to evaluate these further developments before making any tough decisions. 

President Trump waffled on whether to sign the bills, calling the Chinese president “a friend,” but may have believed he did not have much choice in the matter, given that a bipartisan Congress passed both bills by veto-proof majorities (417-1 in the House and unanimously in the Senate). Ultimately, the President signed the bills, but issued a signing statement indicating that “[c]ertain provisions of the [sanctions] Act would interfere with the exercise of [his] constitutional authority to state the foreign policy of the United States,” and that his Administration would treat the provisions of the laws accordingly, suggesting that he may hedge on the tough sanctions mandated by Congress.

The first bill, the Hong Kong Human Rights and Democracy Act of 2019 (the “Hong Kong Human Rights Act”), requires the Trump Administration to submit a report to Congress within six months, and at least annually thereafter, on each foreign person who is determined to be responsible for extrajudicial rendition, arbitrary detention, torture, or any other gross violations of “internationally recognized human rights” in Hong Kong. The Administration would then be obliged to sanction anyone named in the reports, which would include the standard asset freeze, prohibition on dealing, and visa ban.   

The Hong Kong Human Rights Act also requires the Administration to submit reports to Congress within six months, and at least annually thereafter, on whether the Hong Kong government was violating or being used by China to violate U.S. export control and sanctions laws. The United States-Hong Kong Policy Act of 1992 allows the United States to continue to treat Hong Kong separately from Mainland China for matters concerning trade and export control. Hong Kong administers its own import and export systems with multilateral export control regimes, receives favorable treatment with regard to U.S. export licensing and regulations. The Hong Kong Human Rights Act, however, requires the Administration to assess whether U.S.-origin items were being transshipped through Hong Kong in violation of U.S. sanctions on Iran or North Korea, or in circumvention of dual-use controls, or whether U.S. products were being used to develop mass surveillance, predictive policing, or China’s “social credit system.” The Act also requires reports from the Secretary of State within similar timeframes on whether Hong Kong continues to warrant the same treatment under a variety of U.S. laws as it did before its transfer from the United Kingdom back to China in 1997.

The second bill prohibits the Administration from issuing licenses to allow the export of covered munitions items such as tear gas, pepper spray, rubber bullets, stun guns, tasers, and other crowd control-related items to the Hong Kong Police Force. The bill includes narrow exceptions for U.S. national and foreign policy interests.

After President Trump’s signature on the bills on Thanksgiving Eve, China warned the Trump Administration “not to put the law into practice.”  On December 2, 2019, China announced the suspension of visits to Hong Kong by U.S. military ships and aircraft – which have visited Hong Kong periodically since China took control of the territory in 1997 – and vowed to impose unspecified sanctions on various U.S.-based non-governmental organizations for purported support of the Hong Kong protests. Among the organizations identified as potentially subject to sanctions are Freedom House, Human Rights Watch, the International Republican Institute, the National Democratic Institute for International Affairs, and the National Endowment for Democracy.

The Chinese response was viewed as “mostly symbolic” and an effort not to let the dispute over Hong Kong derail the long-running trade negotiations.  

The MoFo National Security team will stay tuned and keep you informed on relevant developments as they occur.

Close
Feedback

Disclaimer

Unsolicited e-mails and information sent to Morrison & Foerster will not be considered confidential, may be disclosed to others pursuant to our Privacy Policy, may not receive a response, and do not create an attorney-client relationship with Morrison & Foerster. If you are not already a client of Morrison & Foerster, do not include any confidential information in this message. Also, please note that our attorneys do not seek to practice law in any jurisdiction in which they are not properly authorized to do so.