Client Alert

特朗普政府限制美国人士投资被列入五角大楼名单的中国公司的公开交易证券

16 Nov 2020

今年夏天,一封两党国会信函将一部拥有二十年历史的法律认定为美国应对中国“军民融合”战略全新的工具。随后,美国国防部(“国防部”)研究并发表了两封信函,列出了在美国有运营的与军方 有关联的中国公司的名称。该名单被称为“五角大楼名单”,虽然对该名单本身并未设置任何特别的禁令,但该名单背后的法律授权总统可行使由《国际紧急经济权力法》赋予的对名单上公司采取行动的权利。因而,舆论一直猜测特朗普政府是否以及何时会根据《国际紧急经济权力法》对名单上的公司采取行动。特朗普政府在上周做出了明确的回应,即将采取行动限制美国对与军方有关联的中国公司进行投资。

2020 年 11 月 12 日,特朗普总统发布了一项行政命令,禁止美国人士对五角大楼名单上的三十一家公司,以及将来可能被加入名单的任何其他公司的公开交易的证券、该证券的衍生产品、或旨在为其提供投资资金的任何证券中进行任何交易。该禁令将于 2021 年 1 月 11 日(也即当选总统拜登宣誓就职的九天前)生效,因此,该禁令有两个月的宽限期。该行政命令还澄清,在行政命令颁布之日起一年内(即截至 2021 年 11 月 11 日前),允许截止 2021 年 1 月 11 日持有相关证券的美国人士为了“全部或部分地实施剥离”而进行的买卖。

重要要点

1. 该行政命令禁止美国人士自 2021 年 1 月 11 日起投资于三十一家指定公司以及国防部或财政部未来指定为在美国直接或间接有运营的与军方有关联的中国公司的任何公开交易的证券。但该行政命令给予美国人士整整一年剥离此类证券的时间。

2. 与美国财政部海外资产控制办公室(“OFAC”)实施的典型制裁相比,行政命令中概述的投资禁令范围狭窄得多。OFAC 制裁通常要求美国人士“封锁”(即冻结)被制裁方的资产,并阻止与其几乎所有进一步的交易,从本质上切断他们与美国经济的联系。行政命令中新的制裁措施允许美国或他国人士与五角大楼名单上的实体进行交易,例如进行普通银行业务;该禁令仅禁止 2021 年 1 月 11 日之后美国人士对此类实体的新投资,以及 2021 年 11 月 11 日之后后的任何持续投资。

3. OFAC 的典型制裁措施是冻结被制裁方的财产,通常包括其拥有 50%或 50%以上股份的任何子公司,但此次行政命令下的制裁范围似乎没有那么广泛,即投资禁令似乎只涵盖了名单上的公司而没有包括其子公司。尽管财政部有权将这些公司的子公司也列在名单上,但只有在这些子公司公开上市后才会被禁令涵盖。另外,目前在该名单上的大量公司似乎并未公开上市,因此,行政命令制裁的影响面可能相对有限。

受该行政命令影响的中华人民共和国(“中国”)的公司包括三十一家知名的“表面上为私人和民用” 公司。该行政命令称这些公司“直接支持中国的军方、情报和安全机构,并协助其发展和现代化”。国防部先前已根据 1999 财年《国防授权法案》第 1237 条将这些公司全部列为与军方有关联的中国 公司,因为其根据中国的军民融合发展战略直接开展业务。国防部于 2020 年 6 月向国会发布了一份 初步名单,并于 2020 年 8 月对其进行了补充。

该行政命令规定,国防部长或财政部长将来可依据第 1237 条确定某公司系与军方有关联的中国公司并且直接或间接在美国或其任何领地或占领区有运营后,将其添加到名单中。财政部长还可以将名单上的公司的子公司添加到名单中。

值得注意的是,行政命令不包括类似于 OFAC 将实体添加到其制裁名单时通常要求立即遵守的规定,因为行政命令规定其限制将在国防部或财政部将受限公司添加到名单中 60 后天才生效。同样, 行政命令提供一年的宽限期,允许在这些实体被添加到名单中的一年内,对于这些实体被添加到名单中 60 天时仍持有的该受限实体证券的美国人士,可以为了“全部或部分地实施剥离”而进行买卖。

上述行政命令像往常一样授予财政部发行实施细则和法规的权力,包括授权本应被禁止交易的许 可。与往常不同的是,在发放任何此类许可证之前,财政部必须先与国防部,外交部和国家情报局局长协商,此规定将肯定会放慢发行任何授权许可证的速度。

行政命令中的某些定义包含一些从事此类证券交易的公司应注意的一些寻常和不寻常的特性:

  • “美国人士”被定义为包括美国实体的外国分支机构,这意味着美国母公司的外国子公司不受该行政命令的约束;
  • “交易”一词 OFAC 通常会广泛地解释其在禁令下的意义,这里仅定义为“价值购买任何公开交易的证券;”以及
  • 该行政命令中定义的“证券”“包括 1934 年《证券交易法》第 73-291 号公法第 3(a)(10)条,经15 USC 78c(a)(10)修订,对‘证券’的定义,但不包括,发行时到期日不超过 9 个月(宽限期或可续签的到期日除外)的货币或任何票据,汇票,银行承兑汇票之外”。

鉴于上述行政命令是根据财政部通常的制裁权力,即《国际紧急经济权力法》下实施的,任何违反这些制裁的每笔交易可能会受到最高 30 万美元,或交易价值的两倍的罚款,罚款标准以金额较大者为准。对于故意违反的行为也可能受到刑事处罚。

除上述行政命令对其制约外,这些被指定为与军方有关联的中国公司与其他的美国政府部门的监管职能也有所关联。每一家上述公司,都可能在商务部扩展后的许可要求下被视为“军事终端用户”。该许可要求适用于管理出口,再出口和转让用于中国的军事终端用途物品,或军事终端用户。国防联邦收购补充条款长期禁止与军方有关联的中国公司进行某些采购。

总统在上述行政命令中认定,中国“正在越来越多地利用美国的资本来资助并使其军事,情报和其他安全机构发展和现代化,这继续使中国直接威胁到美国的国土和美国在海外的部队…”总统断言,与军方有关联的中国公司“通过向(在美国国内外公开交易所中进行投资的)美国投资者出售证券来筹集资金,游说美国指数供应商和基金将这些证券包括在市场发行中,并采取其他行动以确保获得美国资金。以此方式,中国利用美国投资者为其军队的发展和现代化提供资金。”

上述行政命令禁令的确切范围仍然不清楚,因为其具体语言留下了许多开放式的问题和假设。总统将该行政命令的执行权指派给了财政部,并且 OFAC 已在其制裁页面上添加了新的名为“与军方有关联的中国公司”的制裁项目。如果 OFAC 对俄罗斯和委内瑞拉采取的行业制裁措施可作为参照,那么可以推测业界可能需要一些时间来明确允许和禁止交易的确切范围,尤其是发布禁令的特朗普政府即将离任而拜登政府即将就任。同时,预计全球金融机构将叫停涉及名单上的公司的证券的大量相关交易。美富律师事务所的国家安全组将继续关注这一情况,并让您知晓任何重大进展或来自OFAC 的进一步解释。

Close
Feedback

Disclaimer

Unsolicited e-mails and information sent to Morrison & Foerster will not be considered confidential, may be disclosed to others pursuant to our Privacy Policy, may not receive a response, and do not create an attorney-client relationship with Morrison & Foerster. If you are not already a client of Morrison & Foerster, do not include any confidential information in this message. Also, please note that our attorneys do not seek to practice law in any jurisdiction in which they are not properly authorized to do so.

Client Alert

Trump Administration Gives Teeth to Pentagon List and Restricts U.S. Investment in Publicly Traded Securities of Chinese Military Companies Operating in the United States

16 Nov 2020

Over the past summer, prompted by a bipartisan Congressional letter identifying a two‑decade‑old statute as an unused tool in confronting China’s strategy of “Military-Civilian Fusion,” the U.S. Department of Defense (“DOD”) developed and published two letters listing names of Chinese military-owned companies operating in the United States. This so-called “Pentagon List” itself was accompanied by no specific prohibitions, although the underlying statute authorized the President to exercise his authority under the International Emergency Economic Powers Act (“IEEPA”) with respect to the identified companies, leading observers to question whether and when the Trump Administration might take action under IEEPA. The Administration ended that uncertainty late last week, putting bite to its bark and restricting future U.S. investment in such companies.

On November 12, 2020, a lame duck President Trump issued an Executive Order (“EO”) that prohibits any transaction by U.S. persons in publicly traded securities, or any securities that are derivative of, or are designed to provide investment exposure to such securities, of the 31 companies on the Pentagon List as well as any additional companies that may be added in the future. The ban goes into effect on January 11, 2021 – nine days before President-Elect Biden is to be inaugurated – allowing a two-month grace period for such investments. The EO also clarifies that “purchases for value or sales” made within a year of the date of the EO – by November 11, 2021 – are permitted “solely to divest, in whole or in part,” from securities held by U.S. persons as of January 11, 2021.

Key Takeaways

1. The EO prohibits investment by U.S. persons – as of January 11, 2021 – in any publicly traded securities of the 31 named companies and any other entities named by DOD or Treasury in the future as a Chinese military company operating directly or indirectly in the United States. But it gives U.S. persons an entire year to divest themselves of such securities.

2. The investment ban outlined in the EO is a much narrower sanction than the typical type implemented by the U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (“OFAC”). OFAC sanctions generally require U.S. persons to “block” (i.e., freeze) the assets of listed parties and prevent virtually all further transactions with those parties, essentially cutting them off from the U.S. economy. These new sanctions allow U.S. and other persons to deal with entities on the Pentagon List and, for example, engage in ordinary banking activities; the prohibition is only on new investment by U.S. persons in such entities after January 11, 2021, and any continuing investment after November 11, 2021.

3. Typical OFAC sanctions freezing the property of listed parties generally encompass any subsidiaries of which they own 50% or more, but these sanctions do not appear to be as broad, meaning that the investment ban appears only to cover the listed companies and not their subsidiaries. Although Treasury is given the authority to list subsidiaries of these companies, such subsidiaries appear not to be covered until they are publicly listed, meaning that the impact of these sanctions may be relatively limited as of now, since a significant number of the names on the list appear not to be publicly traded.

People’s Republic of China (“PRC”) companies impacted by the EO include dozens of well‑known “ostensibly private and civilian” companies that the EO asserts “directly support the PRC’s military, intelligence, and security apparatuses and aid in their development and modernization.” These companies all previously had been listed by DOD in accordance with Section 1237 of the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 1999 as “Communist Chinese Military Companies” for operating directly in the PRC’s Military-Civil fusion development strategy. DOD issued an initial list to Congress in June 2020, which it supplemented in August 2020. As of now, the following companies – several of which are also targeted by U.S. Department of Commerce authorities – are listed and impacted by the new EO:

  • Aero Engine Corporation of China
  • Aviation Industry Corporation of China (AVIC)
  • China Academy of Launch Vehicle Technology (CALT)
  • China Aerospace Science and Industry Corporation (CASIC)
  • China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (CASC)
  • China Communications Construction Company (CCCC)
  • China Electronics Corporation (CEC)
  • China Electronics Technology Group Corporation (CETC)
  • China General Nuclear Power Corp.
  • China Mobile Communications Group
  • China National Chemical Corporation (ChemChina)
  • China National Chemical Engineering Group Co., Ltd. (CNCEC)
  • China National Nuclear Corp.
  • China North Industries Group Corporation (Norinco Group)
  • China Nuclear Engineering & Construction Corporation (CNECC)
  • China Railway Construction Corporation (CRCC)
  • China Shipbuilding Industry Corporation (CSIC)
  • China South Industries Group Corporation (CSGC)
  • China Spacesat
  • China State Construction Group Co., Ltd.
  • China State Shipbuilding Corporation (CSSC)
  • China Telecommunications Corp.
  • China Three Gorges Corporation Limited
  • China United Network Communications Group Co Ltd
  • CRRC Corp.
  • Dawning Information Industry Co (Sugon)
  • Hangzhou Hikvision Digital Technology Co., Ltd. (Hikvision)
  • Huawei
  • Inspur Group
  • Panda Electronics Group
  • Sinochem Group Co Ltd

The EO provides that additional names may be added in the future by the Secretary of Defense or of the Treasury upon a determination under Section 1237 that they are Communist Chinese Military Companies operating directly or indirectly in the United States or any of its territories or possessions. The Secretary of the Treasury also may add subsidiaries of any listed companies. 

Interestingly, the EO removes the usual immediate scramble to comply that exists when OFAC adds names to its sanctions lists, because the EO provides that the restrictions will only go into effect 60 days after DOD or Treasury adds names in the future. Similarly, the EO provides the same one-year grace period allowing “purchases for value or sales” made within a year of an entity’s addition to the list, “solely to divest, in whole or in part,” from securities held by U.S. persons as of the date 60 days after the addition of a name to the list. DOD has the authority to remove names it has added to the list, and Treasury has the same authority with respect to names it has added to the list.

The EO grants Treasury, as usual, the authority to issue implementing rules and regulations, including licenses to authorize transactions that otherwise would be prohibited. In an unusual twist, and one destined to slow the pace of any licenses, Treasury is required to first consult with DOD, State, and the Director of National Intelligence before issuing any such licenses.

Certain definitions within the EO contain some usual and unusual features that companies that engage in such securities trading should heed: 

  • “U.S. persons” are defined to include foreign branches, which means that foreign subsidiaries of U.S. parent companies are not bound by the EO;
  • The term “transaction” – a prohibition that OFAC generally would construe broadly – is defined solely as “the purchase for value of any publicly traded security”; and
  • The relevant “security” and “securities” that are encompassed within the EO “include the definition of ‘security’ in section 3(a)(10) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, Public Law 73-291, as codified as amended at 15 U.S.C. 78c(a)(10), except that currency or any note, draft, bill of exchange, or banker’s acceptance which has a maturity at the time of issuance of not exceeding 9 months, exclusive of days of grace, or any renewal thereof the maturity of which is likewise limited, shall be a security for purposes of” the EO.

Given that the EO is implemented under Treasury’s usual sanctions authority, IEEPA, any violations of these sanctions could be penalized by a fine of up to approximately $300,000, or twice the value of the transaction, whichever is greater, per transaction. Criminal penalties also are available for willful violations. 

Apart from the EO, these companies’ identification as “Communist Chinese Military Companies” intersects other existing U.S. government authorities. Each of these companies would likely be considered a “military end user” under the Commerce Department’s expanded licensing requirements for exports, reexports, and transfers of items intended for military end use or military end users in China, if a company was not already so considered. The Defense Federal Acquisition Supplement has a longstanding prohibition on certain acquisitions from Chinese Communist Military Companies.

In the EO, the President determined that China has been “increasingly exploiting United States capital to resource and to enable the development and modernization of its military, intelligence, and other security apparatuses, which continues to allow the PRC to directly threaten the United States homeland and United States forces overseas . . . .” The President asserted that Chinese military-owned companies “raised capital by selling securities to United States investors that trade on public exchanges both here and abroad, lobbying United States index providers and funds to include these securities in market offerings, and engaging in other acts to ensure access to U.S. capital. In that way, the PRC exploits United States investors to finance the development and modernization of its military.”

The exact scope of the EO prohibitions remain unclear – the text leaves numerous open questions and hypotheticals. The President delegated implementation of the EO to Treasury, and OFAC already has added a new sanctions program, “Chinese Military Companies Sanctions,” to its sanctions page. If OFAC’s novel sectoral sanctions on Russia and Venezuela are any indication, it might take some time for industry to gain clarity on the precise scope of permissible and prohibited transactions, particularly as the issuing Trump Administration departs and the Biden Administration takes office. In the meantime, expect global financial institutions to pump the brakes on many transactions involving securities of the named companies. MoFo’s National Security practice will continue to monitor this situation and keep you apprised of any significant developments or clarity received from OFAC.


Reema Shocair Ali, a National Security Analyst, and Raymond Rif, a Legislative and Policy Specialist, both in the Morrison & Foerster LLP National Security practice, contributed to this alert.

Close
Feedback

Disclaimer

Unsolicited e-mails and information sent to Morrison & Foerster will not be considered confidential, may be disclosed to others pursuant to our Privacy Policy, may not receive a response, and do not create an attorney-client relationship with Morrison & Foerster. If you are not already a client of Morrison & Foerster, do not include any confidential information in this message. Also, please note that our attorneys do not seek to practice law in any jurisdiction in which they are not properly authorized to do so.