Press Release

Morrison & Foerster LLP Names Selection Committee For 2011 Regulatory Innovation Award


New York, November 24, 2010 – Morrison & Foerster LLP announced it has named the selection committee for the 2011 Regulatory Innovation Award. Morrison & Foerster established the award in 2008 through the Burton Foundation to honor an academic or non-elected public official whose innovative ideas have made a significant contribution to the discourse on regulatory reform in the areas of corporate governance, securities, capital markets or financial institutions.

The selection committee consists of members from academia, former regulators, in-house counsel, financial journalists and members of the financial institutions community. Their names are below and full bios for each member can be found at

"We are delighted to have such a distinguished group of industry experts selecting the winner for the 2011 Regulatory Innovation Award," said Keith C. Wetmore, Chair of Morrison & Foerster LLP. "At Morrison & Foerster, we strive to offer our clients business-minded solutions and the past winners and this year's nominees for the award have all greatly contributed to this nation's discourse on regulatory and financial innovation."

This year's selection committee consists of:

  • David Lynn is a co-chair of the Morrison & Foerster's Public Companies and Securities Practice.
  • Bradley D. Belt is the Senior Managing Director of The Milken Institute.
  • John C. Coffee Jr. is the Adolf A. Berle Professor of Law at Columbia Law School.
  • Nicholas C. Howson is a Professor of Law at the University of Michigan Law School.
  • Sharon Brown-Hruska is a Vice President in the Securities and Finance Practice of National Economic Research Associates (NERA).
  • Roberta Karmel is a Centennial Professor of Law at Brooklyn Law School.
  • Matt Kelly is editor-in-chief of Compliance Week, a magazine and online newsletter that follows corporate governance, risk, and compliance.
  • Michael Peltz is Executive Editor of Institutional Investor magazine, responsible for overseeing the editorial content of its Americas edition.
  • Allan Sloan is a senior editor-at-large at Fortune and contributes to Public Radio International's "Marketplace," whose "Sloan Sessions" are broadcast Monday mornings.

Nominations for the award are due by February 18, 2011. The nomination form can be found at There is no fee to submit and all candidates must be academics or non-elected public officials. The 2011 honoree will be announced after March 28, 2011. Past honorees include Sheila Bair and Elizabeth Warren. For more information on the 2011 Regulatory Innovation Award, please visit

About the Burton Foundation
The Burton Foundation is a volunteer, not-for-profit, academic organization concentrating on legal writing. With tax-exempt status as a 501 (c) (3) corporation, it offers full tax deductibility for contributors.




Unsolicited e-mails and information sent to Morrison & Foerster will not be considered confidential, may be disclosed to others pursuant to our Privacy Policy, may not receive a response, and do not create an attorney-client relationship with Morrison & Foerster. If you are not already a client of Morrison & Foerster, do not include any confidential information in this message. Also, please note that our attorneys do not seek to practice law in any jurisdiction in which they are not properly authorized to do so.