Press Release

San Francisco Partner Jack Londen Honored with Whitney North Seymour Award

San Francisco - December 7, 2001 - Morrison & Foerster announced today that San Francisco Litigation partner Jack Londen is to receive the Whitney North Seymour Award from The Lawyers' Committee for Rights Under Law. The 2001 Annual Awards Reception will honor the outstanding work and tireless dedication provided by the lawyers, law firms and clients who work with the Lawyers' Committee on critical civil rights matters.

The Whitney North Seymour Award honors a Board member who exemplifies the legacy of service and integrity that characterized the life of Whitney North Seymour. As a founding member of the Board of Directors, Whitney North Seymour served as a guiding spirit of the Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law until his death in 1983. Mr. Seymour fulfilled President Kennedy's vision to involve the legal community in efforts to resolve America's civil rights conflicts.

As President of the American Bar Association, Mr. Seymour articulated a mission for the legal profession that remains to this day. "The Bar's purpose," he stated, "is to see to it that there is adequate representation for all: the rich, the poor, the unpopular and the despised."

The Lawyers' Committee is a 38-year-old nonpartisan, nonprofit civil rights legal organization. It was formed in 1963 at the request of President John F. Kennedy to involve the private bar in providing legal services to address racial discrimination.

The 2001 Annual Awards Reception will be held on Monday, December 10th, at Sidley, Austin, Brown & Wood, 1501 K Street, N.W., 6th Floor, Washington, D.C. The event will run from 6 to 8 p.m.

The 2001 Annual Awards Reception will honor:

  • Jack W. Londen of Morrison & Foerster LLP (Whitney North Seymour Award)
  • Norman Redlich of Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz (Lifetime Achievement Award)
  • Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP, New York, N.Y. (Robert F. Mullen Pro Bono Award)
  • Sidney S. Rosdeitcher of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison (Segal-Tweed Founders Award)
  • Dean Mary E. Ricketson of the University of Denver College of Law (Edwin D. Wolf Award)
  • Helen Person, president, Washington Park Lead Committee (Frank R. Parker Client Award)



Unsolicited e-mails and information sent to Morrison & Foerster will not be considered confidential, may be disclosed to others pursuant to our Privacy Policy, may not receive a response, and do not create an attorney-client relationship with Morrison & Foerster. If you are not already a client of Morrison & Foerster, do not include any confidential information in this message. Also, please note that our attorneys do not seek to practice law in any jurisdiction in which they are not properly authorized to do so.