What's the Forecast for Tech M and A?

The Tech M&A Leaders’ Survey is a joint effort by Morrison & Foerster and 451 Research to take the temperature of company executives, corporate development officers, lawyers, bankers, and other dealmakers focused on the technology sector. The mission of this semi-annual survey is to dig into pertinent M&A-related issues with thought leaders and to spark a healthy dialogue about their topics of interest.

Forty-three percent of respondents to our October 2018 survey expect deal activity to continue to increase, a departure from the bullish findings seen in April 2018, which showed 66% of dealmakers expecting an increase in activity. As noted in our press release, the survey also found that 54% of respondents believe CFIUS and trade disputes will have a negative impact on future deals, while 62% view machine learning as more of a driver of M&A.

The market is still very strong, especially when you take into account that the tech industry is on track to finish near, if not over, the highest deal value we’ve seen since the dotcom crash.

Eric McCrath, Co-Chair,
Morrison & Foerster’s Corporate Department

Download the whole survey report to read more predictions on timely topics, including:

  • the outlook for technology M&A deal activity and valuations;
  • machine learning as a driver of M&A;
  • the impact of government policies on dealmaking; and
  • the outlook for IPOs and unicorn debuts.


Contacts

Tracy Bacigalupo
(212) 468-8022
tbacigalupo@mofo.com

Lauren Bellerjeau
(202) 887-8772
lbellerjeau@mofo.com

Spencer D. Klein
(212) 468-8062
sklein@mofo.com

Michael Krigbaum
(650) 813-5928
mkrigbaum@mofo.com

Jackie Liu
(415) 268-6722
jliu@mofo.com

Suz Mac Cormac
(415) 268-6060
smaccormac@mofo.com

Eric T. McCrath
(415) 268-6136
emccrath@mofo.com

Graeme Sloan
44 (0207) 9204021
gsloan@mofo.com

Lawrence T. Yanowitch
(703) 760-7318
lyanowitch@mofo.com

Michael G. O’Bryan
(415) 268-6352
mobryan@mofo.com

Email Disclaimer

Unsolicited e-mails and information sent to Morrison & Foerster will not be considered confidential, may be disclosed to others pursuant to our Privacy Policy, may not receive a response, and do not create an attorney-client relationship with Morrison & Foerster. If you are not already a client of Morrison & Foerster, do not include any confidential information in this message. Also, please note that our attorneys do not seek to practice law in any jurisdiction in which they are not properly authorized to do so.

©1996-2018 Morrison & Foerster LLP. All rights reserved.