Webinar

All You Need to Know About China’s Personal Information Protection Law

06 Oct 2021 09:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. HKT


Following a lengthy legislative process, China’s first comprehensive data privacy law, the Personal Information Protection Law (“PIPL”), was finally adopted on August 20 of this year and takes effect very shortly, on November 1. Many aspects of PIPL were modelled on EU’s General Data Protection Regulation (aka GDPR) but the PIPL departs from and in many cases is stricter than GDPR in a number of respects. 

Join MoFo speakers Paul McKenzie, Gordon Milner, Chuan Sun and Xuezi Dan for a webinar where we provide an overview of some of the PIPL’s key requirements and discuss how companies should prepare for this law. 

Among other topics, we will discuss data localization requirements under the PIPL and restrictions on cross-border transfers of personal information, which are more stringent than under either GDPR or pre-PIPL privacy rules in China.  

We will offer two sessions for this webinar:

  • Europe and U.S. East Coast: 

    Wednesday, October 6, 2021

    9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. EDT / 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. BST / 3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. CEST / 9:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. China Standard Time

    ​​​Register

  • U.S. West Coast and Asia: 

    Tuesday, October 12, 2021: 5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. PDT

    Wednesday, October 13, 2021: 8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. China Standard Time

    Register

Can't make it? Register for the event even if you can’t attend and we will circulate a link to the on-demand recording after the live event. Please note that no CLE/MCLE credits will be offered for on-demand replay.

As further explained in the Terms / Notices linked below, the information provided herein is not legal advice. Any information concerning the People’s Republic of China (“PRC”) is not an opinion on, determination on, or certification of the application of PRC law. We are not licensed to practice PRC law.  


Close
Feedback

Disclaimer

Unsolicited e-mails and information sent to Morrison & Foerster will not be considered confidential, may be disclosed to others pursuant to our Privacy Policy, may not receive a response, and do not create an attorney-client relationship with Morrison & Foerster. If you are not already a client of Morrison & Foerster, do not include any confidential information in this message. Also, please note that our attorneys do not seek to practice law in any jurisdiction in which they are not properly authorized to do so.